Category : Post-Apocalyptic

6 posts

Blaze Knight has been through hell and back, but the nightmares aren’t over yet.

Five years after Blaze was maimed by Cyrus Chimola, a powerful vampire with a penchant for torture, he’s still trying to pick up the pieces of his shattered life. As a genetically engineered mercenary with the ability to bend fire to his will and to see in infrared, Blaze’s mission is to protect what’s left of humanity. When Chimola and his crew return to the Bronx gunning for Blaze’s blood, Blaze is forced to face the demons of his past. Hell-bent on revenge, he seeks the help of Valerie Medeiros, an NYPD detective who manages to steal his heart and save his life in more ways than one.

Motivated by her sister’s gruesome death, Valerie has made it her life’s goal to bury every vampire in the ground where they belong. When she brings in Blaze Knight for suspected murder, she discovers he’s not only innocent, he isn’t a man at all-he’s a half-vampire hybrid working with a band of brothers for the U.S. military. Valerie has a hard time trusting anything with fangs, yet she quickly falls headlong into Blaze’s life, a life full of darkness and horror she can’t even begin to fathom. The bodies are stacking up, but Valerie can’t seem to let go of this hybrid, a beautiful monster filled with pain, rage, and passion unlike anything she’s ever known.

In a world where the line between good and evil is blurred, Blaze and Valerie will find danger at every turn, risking everything they’ve come to know and love, including one another.

Titles in The Order of the Senary series include:  Releasing The Demons –  Black Bullet – 

Dean Ward knew the truth. Everyone else in society always took everything for granted: their technology, their government, and their fellow man. As a Bear Shifter, he knew how fast humans could turn on you, how fast they could blame you. So he left society and decided to prepare for the end he knew was coming. He had everything he needed, but when the nuclear Armageddon begins, what good does the truth do you?

Gina Flynnt’s world ended, not with a bang but with a low rumble. Fleeing from an empty hospital built to withstand a nuclear blast, she saw thousands of people desperate to escape their doom. Barely escaping with her life, she watches as her car careens off a mountain road before losing consciousness. Little did she know her ordeal was only just beginning.

Adult situations, strong sexual content 18+ readers

Stand Alone Title

scorpius-risingIn case you missed this prequel novella to the Scorpius Syndrome series when it was in the anthology On The Hunt… or didn’t even know there was a prequel…

…here’s your chance to get the single copy e-book when it is available on November 29, 2016.

On my reviews for Mercury Striking and Shadow Falling I have highly recommended reading this series from the very beginning – which means the prequel for so much of what their world is now happens in that story of Scorpius Rising.

I’ve already reviewed it, but  I’ve just pre-ordered the single story for easier re-reading.  Yes, I do re-read many series, just because they were so good, and this is one of those.

If you haven’t yet read the prequel, I sincerely hope you get the chance to now.  It’s a compelling and frightening read… because, it could easily happen.


shadow-fallingTitle:  Shadow Falling
Series:  Scorpius  Syndrome
Author:  Rebecca Zanetti
Published:  August 20, 2016
My Rating:  5 stars
Source:  NetGalley
Cover Description:

Before the Scorpius Syndrome tore through North America and nearly wiped out the population, Vivienne Wellington was the FBI’s best profiler. The bacteria got her anyway. But she survived. She recovered. And when she woke up from a drug-nightmare of captivity, her skills as a hunter of men had gone from merely brilliant to full-on uncanny. Her mysterious rescuer wants her to put them to the test. But no matter how tempting he is, with his angel’s eyes and devil’s tongue, Vinnie knows she shouldn’t trust him.

If the FBI were still around they would rate Raze Shadow as one of the bad guys. His military training can’t wipe out his association with the Mercenaries, the most feared gang in a thousand miles. His loyalties are compromised. He won’t even tell Vinnie his real name. But there’s no FBI in the new America of fear and firepower, only instinct and risk.

And the way his arms wrap around Vinnie tells its own story. Whatever else Raze is concealing, he can’t hide his desire .

Titles in this series include:  Mercury Striking, Shadow Falling, Justice Ascending (January 2017)

Read on for my thoughts on Shadow Falling.

Mercury StrikingTitle:  Mercury Striking
Series:  The Scorpius Syndrome #1
Author:  Rebecca Zanetti
Genre:  Romantic Suspense, Post-Apocalyptic
Published:  January 26, 2016
Publisher:  Kensington Books – Zebra
My Rating:  5 stars
Source:  NetGalley
Cover Description:

With nothing but rumors to lead her, Lynn Harmony has trekked across a nightmare landscape to find one man—a mysterious, damaged legend who protects the weak and leads the strong. He’s more than muscle and firepower—and in post-plague L.A., he’s her only hope. As the one woman who could cure the disease, Lynn is the single most volatile—and vulnerable—creature in this new and ruthless world. But face to face with Jax Mercury…

Danger has never looked quite so delicious

Read on for my thoughts on Mercury Striking.

On The HuntTitle:  Scorpius Rising
Series:  The Scorpius Syndrome prequel
Author:  Rebecca Zanetti
Genre:  Post-Apocalyptic, Romantic Suspense
Published:  August 25, 2015
Publisher:  Zebra
My Rating:  5 stars
Source:  Purchased kindle Edition
Cover Description:

With a deadly disease spreading like wildfire across the country, microbiologist Nora Medina needs to focus all her energy on stopping the pandemic. Playing with dynamite—in the form of her way-too-hot ex—is the last thing she should be doing. But forced to work with Deacan McDougall against unexpected enemies with the seconds ticking by, she knows the explosion is coming…

Scorpius Rising is the prequel to the series The Scorpius Syndrome.  It did not launch as a separate novella, but as part of the four author anthology On The Hunt.

This review contains only my thoughts on Scorpius Rising.